2016 World Press Photo Multimedia Winners’ Shortlist Announced

The international jury of the 2016 World Press Photo Multimedia Contest has decided on the shortlist of nominees for this year’s awards.

The multimedia contest has four categories: Short Form, Long Form, Immersive Storytelling and Innovative Storytelling. The contest entries were judged online for the first time this year, with the four specialist juries choosing a shortlist of three nominees per category.

The chairs of the four specialist juries will then comprise a general jury, which will meet in Amsterdam just prior to the Awards Days to select an overall winner for each category. The four overall winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony in Amsterdam on 23 April.


Overview of the shortlist of nominees in each of the four categories:

Short Form

Title: Fatima’s Drawings
Team: Magnus Wennman – Photojournalist
Jenny Svenberg Bunnel – Animator

Title: Mei
Team: Katinka Hustad – Filmmaker

Title: Raising Zay
Team: Meg Vogel – Producer and Editor

Long Form

Team: Mikel Aristregi – Director, producer, camera, pictures, interviews
José Bautista – Director, editor, music composer

Title: A Year in Space
Team: Shaul Schwarz – Director
Marco Grob – Co-Director
Jonathan Woods – Producer
Andrey Alistratov – Editor
Christina Clusiau – Assistant Editor, Cinematographer
Mike Beck – Executive Producer
Jeffrey Kluger – Executive Producer
Ian Orefice – Executive Producer
Kira Pollack – Executive Producer
Jeremy Turner – Title Sequence Composer
Dan Dzula – Sound Mix

Title: The Surrender
Team: Stephen Maing – Director, Producer, Cinematographer, Editor
Laura Poitras – Producer
Peter Maass – Producer
Betsy Reed – Executive Producer
Brendon Anderegg – Composer

Immersive Storytelling

Title: Welcome To Parkersburg West Virginia
Team: Emily Kassie – Director/Producer
Jon Strouss – Associate Producer
Mariah Blake – Writer
Greg Veis – Editor
Rachel Morris – Editor
Raillan Brooks – Researcher

Title: Life After Death
Team: John Poole – Producer, Photographer
Sami Yenigun – Audio Producer
Wes Lindamood – Designer
Tyler Fisher – Developer

Title: Desperate Crossing
Team: Paolo Pellegrin – Photographer
Scott Anderson – Writer
Rodrigo de Benito Sanz – Digital Designer
Jeremy White – Graphics Designer
Kathy Ryan – Director of Photography
Stacey Baker – Photo Editor
Luke Mitchell – Story Editor

Innovative Storytelling

Title: The Displaced
Team: Ben C. Solomon – Director
Imraan Ismail – Director / Cinematography
Chris Milk – Creative Director
Jake Silverstein – Creative Director
Jenna Pirog – Producer
Samantha Storr – Producer
Kathy Ryan – Executive Producer
Patrick Milling Smith – Executive Producer
Andy Wright – Executive Producer
Livio Sanchez – Editing
Ting Poo – Editing
McKenzie Stubbert – Music
Susan Dominus – Additional Reporting
Andrew E. Kramer – Additional Reporting
Marc Santora – Additional Reporting
Gail Bichler – Design Director

Title: Greenland is Melting Away
Team: Josh Haner – photographer; videographer; reporter
Coral Davenport – reporter
Derek Watkins – designer; graphics editor
Larry Buchanan – designer; graphics editor
Crista Chapman – photo editor
Alexandra Garcia – video production editor
Meaghan Looram – photo editor
Hannah Fairfield – editor

Title: Graphic Memories: Tales from Uganda’s female former child soldiers
Team: Marc Ellison – Freelance photojournalist
Christian Mafigiri – Illustrator
Carla Bower – Editor
Elizabeth Melimopoulos Requena – Assistant Producer

The gallery of nominees: http://www.worldpressphoto.org/collection/multimedia/2016


Insight into the jury’s decisions:
Jury member Harald Dunnink reflected on the entries in Immersive Storytelling: 

“It is great to see the amount of dedication and heart that went into the creation of these interactive stories. While many have aspects that trigger interest and interaction only a few understand the art of making such digital stories truly immersive. It’s about striking a delicate balance between various forms of storytelling (good writing, clear infographics, thoughtful animations etc) that together sit comfortably within an interface that is intuitive and well designed.”

Jury member Joël Ronez on Innovative Storytelling category:

“The three projects in the Innovative Storytelling shortlist all try to push the creative storytelling process to a new frontier. They are all strong journalistic and creative ambitions, so I think any of them could be a good source of inspiration for other creators.”

A representative from each nominated production will get travel plus lodging expenses to attend the Awards Days where winners will be announced. The Awards Days are a two-day gathering of industry participants and celebration of the prizewinners held in Amsterdam on 22 and 23 April 2016. For more information about the Awards Days, please go to:http://www.worldpressphoto.org/activities/awards-days

The multimedia contest is set up separately from the annual photo contest: different rules of entry apply, and the entries are judged by different teams of jury members. You can find further information on the 2016 Multimedia Contest, including biographies of the jury members and contest category definitions here: http://www.worldpressphoto.org/activities/multimedia-contest

World Press Photo Multimedia in De Nieuwe Kerk
The prize-winning productions will be presented with the winning images of the 2016 Photo Contest in Amsterdam, De Nieuwe Kerk, from 16 April 2016 to 10 July 2016. More information about the exhibition can be found here: http://www.worldpressphoto.org/exhibitions/2016-exhibition/amsterdam